I saw the Twilight Saga Eclipse last night at midnight, and with all Twilight films I am glad that I went on opening night. First; it's good to know what everyone is talking about, and second; there is no experience like a Twilight film at midnight, it's electric.
Eclipse so far is my favorite Twilight film to come out. The acting was better, the directing was better, and the special effects were better. Everything has just improved so much since the series first hit the big screen.
I was disappointed in a few things. Bryce Dallas Howard took over in the character of Victoria. Her acting was cheesy and not very believable. I'm not sure she was a good fit. In the action you couldn't tell it was a new person, but in her speaking lines, it was painfully obvious that this girl was not built to be an angry vampire.
The editing had it's moments. I was not a huge fan of the opening. I liked the idea of it, but thought it came out rushed and choppy. This was apparent in other parts that as well. I think they needed a few more shots to make the sequence work out better. Along with the editing, some transitions were awkward. Just a bit forced.
Other than that the film was visually beautiful. I would see it again just for the prettiness of it all. The new character of Riley was great. I wouldn't have minded if he had more face time. This installment did a good job of providing background to characters other than Edward, Bella and Jacob. You see the back story to Rosalie and Jasper and scratch a little more of the werewolf surface.
I think I say the rest in my video review below so check that out.
Rating: 3.0★ stars (out of 5)
Recommendation: Twilight fans and those curious about Twilight will love this film. You can't go into it expecting a cinematic masterpiece or you will be disappointed. It merely a fun fan movie. There is no need to see this film in IMAX. It wasn't filmed for IMAX so don't waste your money.
No comments:
Post a Comment